Magnetic Island

One of Magnetic's many beautiful beaches

One of Magnetic's many beautiful beaches - watch out for stingers and salt water crocs!

After wandering around the James Cook University campus I wanted to go back to uni, specifically this one! Such a beautiful campus. However, only moments after leaving campus the urge disappeared – I was only momentarily smitten.

I hopped on a passenger ferry over to Magnetic Island; timed perfectly for the ‘school’ run, which was a flash back to commuting on the Bowen ferry to school.

Apparently the island was named “Magnetic Island” because it messed with Capt Cook’s navigational instruments. Since then the island’s magnetic properties have been disproved… Cook must have had something else going on.

Magnetic Island was really nice…. and very hot. I spent most of the time lying in the sun and at the beach. At one point, I did manage to pull myself off the beach towel to go find a pay phone and make some calls home. In true Aussie fashion I got distracted, and ended up doing a hike over the hill to two other beaches. I forgot my shoes, but didn’t seem to notice until I finally got back to the pay-phone two hours later and noticed how hot the pavement was on my toes!

Burnt trees and shrub along my walkabout over the hill. Every few years, land is control burnt like this to prevent the build up of fuel for forest fires. There is a lot of controversy over whether it is a good tactic to use or not.

Burnt trees and shrub along my walkabout over the hill. Every few years, land is control burnt like this to prevent the build up of fuel for forest fires. There is a lot of controversy over whether it is a good tactic to use or not.

The hostel I stayed at, Bungalow Bay Hostel, also has a little wildlife sanctuary attached to it. I wanted to see a koala up close and personal, so I took the tour and ended up seeing a lot more then just koalas – crocs, echidnas, cockatoos, lizards, skinks, koalas, wallabies… and a python.

I kissed a cockatoo! Actually I put a sunflower seed between my lips, and he gently removed it and then ate it

I kissed a cockatoo! Actually I put a sunflower seed between my lips, and he gently removed it and then ate it

Koala cuddle... he got a bit friendly. They're pretty cute, but they stink.

Koala cuddle... he got a bit friendly. They're pretty cute, but they stink.

Awwww... birdy love

Awwww... birdy love

Exhausted after the cuddle session

Exhausted after the cuddle session

I was TRICKED into holding the python. I have a healthy respect for snakes of any size, especially ones longer then me that have the ability to strangle and eat me alive. I was told that if I didn’t hold the snake, then I would have to hold the spider. Immediately, I stood up with outstretched arms – “Give me the snake.”  It didn’t last long, but from what I can remember it was cool and heavy and it’s head was moving toward mine far too quickly. Luckily, I survived.
The spider I was threatened with was a plastic tarantula. Gah!

"OMG, I'm holding a giant python!!"

"OMG, I'm holding a giant python!!"

"It's coming towards me.... I'm DONE NOW!!"

"It's coming towards me.... I'm DONE NOW!!"

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

