A Day at the Zoo

I hadn’t heard anything about the Sydney Zoo, so I was mostly indifferent when Miranda mentioned that she wanted to check it out. Little did I know that she was actually attempting to keep a SECRET from me – that the Zoo has tonnes of animals I never expected to see!

We took a cute little ferry from the Opera House over to the Zoo, and then jumped in the cable car to get to the top (the zoo is built on a hill). Then suddenly we were flying over elephants, giraffes, and tigers! Oh my!

All smiles in the cable car up to the zoo

All smiles in the cable car up to the zoo

The coolest part of the zoo was “Wild Australia”. We walked up to the enclosure, and were spying on the kangaroos when we noticed there was a big gate beside us. We couldn’t see any other people inside, but there was a sign on the gate that said please close behind you and there was no lock. Tentatively, we opened the gate and went inside – half expecting alarm bells and Zoo-rangers to jump out and stop us. Nothing happened and we went on our merry way… amongst the kangaroos and wallabies! I sat on a rock near the path and a nearby wallaby let me pet it. Then near the exit, we pet a kangaroo that was incredibly soft. I felt nervous about intruding on their space like this, but they had plenty of room to leave the path we were on. Still, I look forward to seeing them in the wild (although I won’t attempt to touch those ones).

Enjoy the pictures!

Kanga

Kanga

My new best friend

My new best friend

Giraffe love

Giraffe love

Miranda's new best friend

Miranda's new best friend

Some strange new type of Lemur

Some strange new type of Lemur

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

